Processing… Processing!

This is my post to remind you folks that I have not forgotten about you! Life has been pretty crazy lately and I just haven’t had much time nor mental capacity to sit down and type out any kind of lengthy. There is a lot going on in the world, and in my own personal life, and some of it is really draining…

So basically, this post is to remind that I am still here, and further work will be coming soon. The shop has been pretty busy, so I can’t complain there.  I am also just taking some time to get myself back together, and to process all the things going on, from the recent election and Standing Rock. More expansive work is forthcoming, I swear.

A quick note about forthcoming work. After some feedback on Facebook, I think I am going to start a prayer series here on this blog, based on a deck I use for divination and prayer. I think there is a lot of people out there who are struggling, and if I can help in any little way, I will. So stay tuned for that.

There are a couple of things I want to say about this past election. I have made my thoughts on bigotry pretty clear HEREbut I did want to reiterate some of that here. Donald Trump is going to be our next president, and this fills me with a lot of uncertainty and concern for many of the people I cherish the most. Trump’s rhetoric during the campaign has been  nothing short of deplorable, filled with misogyny, racism, sexism and general bigotry. I have made it pretty clear that I have no tolerance for those things. In addition, I feel that a Trump presidency has the potential of doing a great deal of damage and harm to already marginalized communities; POC, women, LGTB+ folks, immigrants, and pretty much anyone not a white male. Yes, I realize that puts me in a very privileged group, as a white male.

That being said, I want to make one thing clear. People in many of these marginalized groups are counted among my close friends, and are very dear to me. So I want to make it clear that I will do everything in my power to support and keep them safe.

I am here for you. You matter, you are important, and I hear you. What can I do to help?

Other than that, there is quite a bit I am still processing about this election. It has left me rather shaken, and I will work through that in time. You, dear reader’s, might even get a sampling of that. But personally, I am ready to leave this election far behind me. I have work to do to prepare for the coming days.

On another topic, I wanted to touch a little here about Standing Rock, and what is going on there. I don’t want to make any bones about it, I support the people at Standing Rock. Water is life, and we have been dependent on oil far too long. We need to be doing everything in our power to transition away from powering our civilization on the long dead. That is part of the conflict at Standing Rock, the struggle between life and death. Oil is toxic, and the Standing Rock Sioux are at risk of having their water poisoned by the Black Snake. Water is life, and I believe that access to clean water is a basic human right.

I wrote this on Facebook a little time back; and I think it is worth sharing.

“I just keep thinking about the Balrog from Lord of the Rings. The dwarves dug t0o greedily and too deep, and woke up that ancient horror.

Maybe the Black Snack isn’t all that different. Now we have to deal with this venomous, toxic beast we have unearthed. Yes, it has driven our civilization to new heights, but at the end of the day we made a deal with the devil, who has now come to collect.

How do I express my solidarity in this fight, me, whose ancestors were strangers from a strange land, and who built this country on the blood and bones of the natives.

The very people who now fight the Black Snake.

It is the Black Snake, the one who is made from those that are long dead, that drives the machines of war that oppress the natives.

And yet, the waters of this land flow through my veins, the air in my lungs, the minerals in my bones, the very tinder with which to alight the fires of my spirit.”

Water Rights, Indigenous Rights, Basic Human Rights, as well as environmental issues are all tied up with Standing Rock. It does my heart good to see support from peoples all across the globe, from America, Norway, New Zealand, Mongolia. This is bigger than any one person, and I will continue to support the Native Peoples in any way I can.

I think a new story is unfolding.

Thanks for reading!

About Nicholas Haney

I am a writer, author, hunter, craftsman, and student of anthropology/archaeology. View all posts by Nicholas Haney

Leave a Reply

