Not in my Paganism

There has been a few recent things that have grabbed my attention, and I wanted to say a few words about these. I don’t feel I can stay silent in good conscience. At very least, I have to stake out where I stand on these things.

Perhaps some of you are aware of some of the controversies surrounding the Asatru Folk Assembly? And as of today, there is some new “uncuckery” about…

Lupa wrote a few words on this issue HERE. It inspired me to hammer out a few words of my own. Speaking generally, I am the kind of person that likes to keep my head down in these kind of things. Most days I am content to be a passive observer. In addition, I try to keep my mind open, and try not to draw a lot of hard lines. I really don’t enjoy divisive, polarizing rhetoric, and I prefer to keep myself ideologically flexible.

That being said, I do have a few hard lines, and I tend to push back when I feel they are crossed. I think that Lupa did a great job tearing into the AFA, whose recent statement is blatantly and unapologetically racist.

In my worldview, all persons (human or not) are inherently worthy of dignity and respect. This means that there is no place for prejudice, racism, sexism, homophobia, transphobia, xenophobia; or bigotry of any sort in my paganism. That is just not how I do things.

Let’s be clear about a few more things. The idea of “whiteness” is steeped in a history of racism and bigotry, and that kind of toxicity is not doing us any favors. I really have no time and no tolerance for that kind of thinking.

In addition, this extends to things like Islamaphobia and general hatred towards monotheisms as well. It is a point of fact that monotheisms make up about 2 billion people on this planet. I cannot in good conscience believe that all those people are “evil” or “out to get me” in some way or another. Do I have deep philosophical differences? Of course.

The fact is that there are shitty people in every group (Christian, Muslim, Heathen, Pagan, whatever), and we cannot condemn a whole people based on the actions of a few. But we can condemn those few; for being shitty humans.

In fact, the idea of “Europe for Europeans” is just as bad as saying “America for Americans”, or “Make America White Again.” As far as I am concerned, you can take that shit and go, and try not to let the door hit you on the way out.

There is something I want to say here about ancestry. I have made no efforts to disguise the fact the I practice ancestor veneration. I do not see anything inherently wrong with wanting to honor the ways of your ancestors. However, when that becomes an excuse for bigotry is when there is a problem. No amount of ancestor veneration is a reason for bigotry.

The reason for this is that ancestry is really, really complicated. If my series “Walking with the Ancestors” has demonstrated anything, is that I am a lot more than my nationality, or my ancestors nationality. I have hundreds if not thousands of known ancestors in my research, and across the board there are Germans, Norwegians, People of Color (our earliest ancestors likely had dark skin), Muslims, Christians, LGBT folks; gods you name I probably have it…

Just for the record, one nation = one culture is bullshit. National “purity” is also bullshit.

I am a mutt, a global citizen of a multicultural world. I am a multicultural pagan (ect ad nausem)… To be honest about ancestry,I would pretty much have to claim all nationalities. If, as some have claimed, I need to be my nationality, how about you tell me who I am supposed to be?

This is why I advocate for inclusiveness, for tolerance. Because at the end of the day, to be a bigot is to insult a member of the human race, and a distant, or not so distant, member of our own family.

Thanks for reading.

About Nicholas Haney

I am a writer, author, hunter, craftsman, and student of anthropology/archaeology. View all posts by Nicholas Haney

One response to “Not in my Paganism

Leave a Reply

