God-Centric?

So this is my 100th post on this blog… Woohoo!

I am really hesitant to weigh in on this one, let me put that out there. It is really entangled with a lot of other topics, and untangling them can be hard. But I honestly feel I have something constructive to add of to this conversation.

First off, to come clean on my biases. I consider myself to be an animist first, and a polytheist by proxy. I believe in spirits as real independent persons, with their own wills, personalities and agendas. I believe they vary greatly in power and influence, from high gods, down to the smallest local spirits. I consider myself amongst the northern sphere of communities, though “heathen” is of course up for debate.

I am among the non-Deity-centric folks. Now, I will tell you why.

As I have discussed before, gods are not center to my spirituality because I do not have a strong working relationships with the gods, with one exception. I honor them, give them offerings, and keep a place for them on my various altars. It is not a highly populated place, nor what I would consider to be a “central” place. Once again, as I have said before, generally speaking I lack the “god-phone”, and I have tried for many years to build a meaning relationship with the gods. To this point, I have generally been unsuccessful. I have invited, I have prayed, I have left offerings. Nada, zilch, nothing. Let me be clear, it is not from a lack of trying, devotion, or honest belief. It is more of a matter that it is not one of my particular talents. I would defer to others when it comes to the gods.

Sarenth put it well, in my opinion.

“When someone puts the Gods first, does that mean the needs of one’s family are ignored?  That the ties that bound a community are ignored?  Absolutely not.  What it means is that my family recognizes the Gods at the center of our lives.  It is not an either/or thing, here.  I do not love the Gods and ignore my family.  In loving and serving my Gods, I love and serve my family as well.  In separating one from the other is where error comes from.  If the Gods are in (or are) the Air, the Water, the Fire, the Ice, etc., then it is impossible to escape Them and foolish, if not hubris, to ignore Them.  Far better to partner with Them in good Gebo than to pretend we are somehow separate from Them.”

Some will hammer on against/for lore and/or UPG. On that topic. I am a moderate when it comes to the lore and UPG. It serves as a great check and balance system, in my opinion. One practice that I have learned from one of my mentors is spiritual accounting. Spirit Y told me to do X. Does that mean I run off to do X? Not at all. I verify the spirit is legit. I check the lore to see if it has any guidance. I get outside confirmations. I check it against my own beliefs and ideals. Sometimes spirits ask things that I AM NOT OK with. I have a will and identity of my own. Once all that is done, then I will consider what to do next. The point is balance, and mitigating the respective flaws of each approach.

But I digress a little.

As Krasskova points out, this is not a black/white topic. This is a multifacted topic, multispectrum, a topic with many roots and branches. Let’s run with that metaphor for a bit.

Now, this is not a literal interpretation of the Norse cosmology. But consider for a moment the roots that hold up the world tree. There is more than one, and there is more than one root to all of this. Perhaps one root is the gods, another the ancestors, a third the spirits. The roots all feed the trunk, which crosses through the middle world of the living, which includes family and living beings. They are part of the tree too.

Personally, I love the ideas expressed at Patheos by John Beckett, about the big tent and the four centers of paganism. I think these ideas are applicable to these discussions in heathenry and related spheres as well. It is a very pluralistic, and I do enjoy that sort of thing. What would the poles of Heathenry be? The gods, the ancestors, and the spirits for sure. Perhaps one pole for each. But family and community as well. Perhaps lore and experiential practices are other poles. The fact is that each of us aligns with each “pole” a little bit differently. However, there is overlap. We are not isolated spheres floating without connections.

So yes, I do come at all of this from a non-Deity-centric person. That does not mean I have no concern for my living family, even if there are just the two of us. This does not mean I do not honor the gods, because I do. I am just closer to the ancestors/spirit poles then I am the god-poles (haha, see what I did there?!)

So no, the gods are not the “center” of my practice. But it is a mistake to assume there is only one “center” in all this.

That is just my two cents.

References:

http://www.patheos.com/blogs/johnbeckett/2015/01/the-big-tent-of-paganism.html

http://www.patheos.com/blogs/johnbeckett/2014/05/the-four-centers-of-paganism.html

https://sarenth.wordpress.com/2015/02/25/what-it-means-to-place-the-gods-first/

https://krasskova.wordpress.com/2015/02/25/are-our-communities-ready-for-theology/

http://polytheist.com/wyrd-ways/2015/02/15/lectio-divina-heathen-style/

About Nicholas Haney

I am a writer, author, hunter, craftsman, and student of anthropology/archaeology. View all posts by Nicholas Haney

8 responses to “God-Centric?

  • Sarenth

    Absolutely agreed with what you have written here. The Gods do not need to be the center of every animist or polytheist path, and I apologize if it comes across that way in the piece. I imagine if I was living off the land more I would be doing more with the landvaettir. That is, my religious life would be more landvaettir and vaettir in general oriented. I resonate with your thoughts as to centers here, that the Gods, Ancestors, and vaettir are centers and people are pulled to or pushed towards them.

    • Nicholas Haney

      No worries Sarenth. That is not the impression that came across in your piece. A lot of different lines of thought coalesced in this post, all of which need more time and space to explore.

      Thank you for your kind words.

  • ganglerisgrove

    Reblogged this on Gangleri's Grove and commented:
    This blog responds to my concept of a Deity-centered polytheism in a thoughtful and thought-provoking way. I particularly like the tree/branches metaphor. I think it’s quite a useful way of looking at what is tremendously nuanced and multi-faceted.

    N. Haney notes up front that he is not Deity-centric in his practice and goes on to explain why. That explanation alone is worth reading. Some people are called to be more focused on ancestors or land spirits and one of the balancing acts of spiritual life, I believe, is finding a way to do that which doesn’t dismiss or ignore or denigrate the Holy Powers, but keeps Them on the map, an acknowledged part of that metaphorical tree.

    This is a really good piece and it’s given me a lot of food for thought. I need to let that percolate for a bit and see where it takes me.

  • [Monday] Updates & Links | of the Other People

    […] Haney posted on being, or not being, god-centric. Honestly, I would love to see some actual ideas of what this god-centric life would look like and […]

  • Planting Seeds | Sarenth Odinsson's Blog

    […] thinking on the last post and the centers Nicholas Haney brought up in God-centric?, is that one of the centers that tends to get left by the wayside in the larger polytheist and […]

  • A Community of All | Pagan Church Lady

    […] has been a lot of discussion of a God-centered versus community-centered life in the Heathen and Pagan communities of late.  I feel that I understand where most are coming from on both sides of the discussion.  Regarding […]

Leave a Reply

