Going into Hiding

I think I am going to take a break from the blog for a while. For those of you that follow this blog, you realize that I do this from time to time. I am not leaving the blogging world, I just need a bit of a break.

The truth is, things are piling up kind of quickly, and I need some time to sort it all out. I am going to do more writing and research outside of the blog, so when I come back to it I will have lots of fresh material for you all.

Also, I am thinking about starting a book based upon a lot of what I write about here. In truth, I often struggle with what to post here sometimes. I often feel like I am just going to spoil whatever book I decide to write, by writing about it here first. But at the same time, books are often more detailed and more in depth then blogs. So maybe it is time to write that book, whatever it may be. I have already started to compose a bibliography.

I also have plenty of other projects to rewrite, edit and publish. So there is that too.

I think more about each day what I have to contribute to the various communities. What are my skills, and my unique strengths. What do I bring to the “table”? That is something I will be thinking about during my brief respite. Just a few preliminary thoughts, I am an idea person. I get great joy out of sorting through information and making sense out of it all. I love learning.

Sure, that is part of the reason I began this blog in the first place. To give me a space to sort through ideas and information. Let’s face it, with the internet especially, there has been an explosion of information, in paganism, and in a lot of other areas. The communities need people that enjoy that kind of thing. People like me, to sort through all the information, and help to pass it on to the next generation.

At the same time, I am also a practical person. Not only do I get a kick out of learning, and making sense of information. I also enjoy putting it to work. To take an idea, and put it into practice. That is also something I enjoy. That is often one of my criteria for “good” and “bad” information. Is it useful? Can it be put to work? Don’t get me wrong, I am all for knowledge for its own sake and loving learning just because. But in some ways, even more than that, I love putting all that knowledge and learning to work. To take an idea, and bring it into the world. There is great pleasure in that.

That is where my creative drive comes in. I love making things, by hand and by brain. I love stories, and story telling. Not just writing, but orally as well. One thought I had was maybe doing a podcast or something. Some way I can work on the oral aspect of storytelling. That is something I want to do better.

To come back to where I started, What do I have to contribute? That is something I am going to be thinking during my few weeks off. I think I will come back to this in February sometime. So I will see you all on the other side.

I will not be going full hermit, and will still be checking this blog regularly, as well as email and other things. So don’t be afraid to reach out to me. Maybe there are things you would like me to consider. Questions to ask, hmmm?

Anyways, see you all on the other side.

About Nicholas Haney

I am a writer, author, hunter, craftsman, and student of anthropology/archaeology. View all posts by Nicholas Haney

One response to “Going into Hiding

Leave a Reply

