Reflections

This is my end of the year post, the last one of 2014. This has been a year of changes, that is for sure. No small measure of good memories, and more than a few losses as well.

So I really wanted to look back, and think about where I am going. Just looking back over the posts for this year, I realize I have come a ways in the last year. I have learned quite a bit, but there is still a lot to learn. I often think about going back to school, getting a Master’s degree or something. Then I look at how expensive it is, and I think better of it. Really, if I am honest, the only reason I want to go back to school is to learn. Not for a better job or some far off career, but for myself. Knowledge for its own sake. Yet, there have to be more economical options out there. It is a sad state of things when good minds (mine is alright I guess) go to waste because of lack of financial resources.

Yet, my learning never stops. Call it an initiation or a milestone, something has been happening the second half of this year. A lot of pieces have fallen into place. Something within me is changing, and I wonder where that will take me. All I know is that there is no going back now.

So, thinking ahead, there is a lot of work ahead of me. I have been thinking lately about what I contribute to the community. Where are my strengths, that kind of thing. I love learning new things, but I have been thinking more lately about how to apply what I have learn. How can I put my knowledge to work, not just for myself, but for others as well? That is something I will be considering in the new year.

 

There are a lot of notes and odds-and-ends writing laying about. From this blog and from other places. Maybe there is a book in there somewhere. I just have to start putting it together.

Yet, sometime I feel like I can’t write down everything I have learned. Somethings, like hands on work for example, just don’t translate well to writing. They need to be learned from a mentor, in the real world, not from the written word. That makes me think about teaching again. I used to do some classes before, but they never felt quite right to me. I never felt like I was any good at it. Maybe that is something to consider as well.

As my last words this year, I really do want to thank all my readers. You guys are really what make writing worth while. Sure, I love writing and wouldn’t stop even if you all hated me… Please don’t hate me, I didn’t mean that.

It just that, knowing people enjoy my work really means a lot to me. So thanks a million!

Well, I am signing off for 2014.

See you all in 2015!

About Nicholas Haney

I am a writer, author, hunter, craftsman, and student of anthropology/archaeology. View all posts by Nicholas Haney

Leave a Reply

