Skaði Part 3

At the moment, in response to my last post, there does seem to be a leaning towards breaking these posts up into smaller chunks. I feel a little resistant to the idea, but then again a long article has never been a distraction to me. Yet, I see no harm in experimenting a little bit. So going forward I going to section these up into about 500 words or so each, and post weekly. We will see what happens. If the results are good, I may stick with it. If not, I’ll go back to the longer articles.

In this post, I wanted to explore more of the experiential parts of my apprenticeship with Skadi. At least, that I have learned about so far. It is hard to say if this will change, or how.

As such, a lot of this piece is my own thoughts and interpretations. I will be pulling in quotes from a few other sources that have helped me. All I can say is that this is the current state of my relationship with her, and it may change, nor is it the end all or be all. It seems a standard caveat in spirit work that your relationship may differ.

As Paxson says; “We call Skadhi a goddess, but in the old lore of the north, she comes neither of the clan of warrior deities called the Aesir nor from the agricultural Vanir, but of a kindred far older– the frost-giants of ancient days.”

Jotuns belong to a prehistoric past, and it is hard to say how far they actually go back. Some even argue that Skadi may be connected with original or indigenous peoples that predate agricultural, such as the Sami. I will be covering this more in a future post.

Skadidottir says;  “She is a very physical being, strongly interested in physical health and stamina. The first thing to know about Skadi is that you will have to learn how to exercise, take care of your body, survive in the wild to some extent, and deal with winter in a constructive way…. She does not deal well with sloth and gluttony. She abhors any type of laziness involving the body – regardless of your health concerns. If you want to work with her, you need to know how to exercise, and you need to do it outside on a semi-regular basis.”

As I said, she insists I exercise. As I am a pretty active person to begin with, so this wasn’t too much of a problem. But this doesn’t mean she is all brawn and no brain. While it does not seem to be in her nature to do “brain games” for the fun of it, her nature is a very balanced one. Archery is one good example. It takes mental discipline as well as physical strength and endurance to do well. It is a challenge both mentally as well as physically, and takes dedication. That is how Skadi appears to me.

That is where I am going to leave this post for now, though there is so much more I want to say. Doing these shorter posts might be a bit of a challenge.

The next part of this work is forthcoming in a week or so, so stay tuned!

Sources/References;

Skadidottir, Lyn http://www.northernpaganism.org/shrines/skadi/writing/working-with-skadi.html

Paxson, Diane http://www.hrafnar.org/articles/dpaxson/asynjur/skadi/

About Nicholas Haney

I am a writer, author, hunter, craftsman, and student of anthropology/archaeology. View all posts by Nicholas Haney

Leave a Reply

