Midwest Vikings? Part 5

I have noticed a notable uptick in the stats for my “Michigan/Midwest Vikings” posts. I wonder if it has anything to do with the below?

This is something that came across my Facebook today. There was a discovery in northern Michigan, Cheboygan for those interested, of possible Viking artifacts. Right here in the Great Lakes!

Just a few words of warning about these kinds of artifacts. I have written a great deal about the other finds, and there has not been anything I have found that has been definitive. Don’t get me wrong, I want to believe! I really hope some of my ancestors made it this far.

But these kind of things can be faked, hoaxes or what have you. This happens a lot, the history of archaeology is full of them. I would almost say they would be easier in this day and age, with the viral nature of the internet.  Also they could be trade artifacts that moved independently of the people that made them. They could have also been buried by some Scandinavia/Norse colonist centuries after the Vikings. There is a lot of variables here.

I am eagerly awaiting on the follow up research from U of M (if there is any, see below.), and I am hoping this turns out to be authentic.

Here is the link to the article;

http://worldnewsdailyreport.com/usa-viking-artefacts-discovered-near-great-lakes/

 

Update on 5/28;

After this was pointed out to me by a friend; Below is the disclaimer for the website.

“World News Daily Report is a news and political satire web publication, which may or may not use real names, often in semi-real or mostly fictitious ways. All news articles contained within worldnewsdailyreport.com are fiction, and presumably fake news. Any resemblance to the truth is purely coincidental, except for all references to politicians and/or celebrities, in which case they are based on real people, but still based almost entirely in fiction.”

 

About Nicholas Haney

I am a writer, author, hunter, craftsman, and student of anthropology/archaeology. View all posts by Nicholas Haney

6 responses to “Midwest Vikings? Part 5

  • James "TwoSnakes" Stovall

    World News Daily Report is one of these great sites with hard hitting news like “cow brought back to life by lightning strike”

  • Myron Paine

    “The depicted artifacts are all from a find in Norway, near Aalesund. I still hoped the story was true, though, but alas…
    Frode”

    Hi, Nicolas,

    The true Norse Catholic history is on the Internet at LENAPE LAND. The first 38 stanzas of the history can be viewed in about 15 minutes. These stanzas cover the Greenland history until the Norse Catholics were forced to Migrate and continue up to a stanza that talks about the same “ten men dead” that is on the Kensington Rune Stone. Two reporters using two different media reported the same bloody episode. The LENAPE LAND and the Kensington Rune Stone validate each other.

    The presence of North Catholics in America is well documented by the history, supported by the large amount of evidence, and verified by the Vatican. What is missing is the description in the English history. My hypothesis is that the English took deliberate action to make that absence happen. See PARADIGM SHIFT: SUPPRESSED. If you have been aware of more than three of the eleven episodes, I will modify my hypothesis.

  • Myron Paine

    I have not heard a response from you. Would you test the test I plan to send to Educators next fall?
    EARLY AMERICAN HISTORY TEST

    True False Columbus was the first European to discover America.

    True False Norse Catholics have been in North America since AD 1050.
    ________________________________________________
    True False Norse Catholics were along the Atlantic coast,
    when the English invaded.

    True False The English found a primitive wilderness
    with only a few savage.
    ________________________________________________
    True False After valiant attempts to convert the savages,
    the English concluded the savages must be removed.

    True False The English exterminated Norse Catholics
    for over a century, AD 1612 to1720.
    ________________________________________
    True False The English purged most of the evidence
    for Norse Catholic existence.

    True False The English were never able to find a history
    for the North American savages.
    ________________________________________
    True False Early American history is an accurate recording
    made by the English invaders.

    True False The lack of evidence of the Norse Catholic existence
    has profoundly distorted North American history.
    _________________________________________

    • Nicholas Haney

      Sadly, I have not had a lot of time lately. I have been quite busy with my day job as well as my own work.

      As far as the test goes, I must decline at the moment. I am just too busy.

      Thank you for following up!

Leave a Reply

